Most of Kefir products have a lot of sugar added 20% all the way to 25%. Which kefir should I get?
Can I drink kefir if I am lactose intolerant?
People with lactose intolerance can tolerate kefir. Lactose intolerance is a common digestive problem caused by too little production of an enzyme called lactase in the small intestine, which the body needs to digest lactose (milk sugar). Without lactase enzyme, lactose is hard to digest and break down by our gut.
During the fermentation, most of milk’s lactose turns into lactase enzyme. The result is a 99% lactose-free kefir with the lactose replaced by lactase enzymes that help you digest the lactose in the long run.
In general, always read food labels and avoid added sugars, which are often found in processed foods and can lead to health problems. Natural sugars in fruits and vegetables are good for you, but added sugars should be limited. If you like a sweeter taste, I would suggest going for our Vanilla Bean Kefir (naturally sweet notes from organic vanilla beans) or Cacao Kefir sweetened with organic pure monk fruit. Cheers!